Covid-19: Curfew

4 years ago
Covid-19: Curfew

Updated on October 26, 2020

Since Friday, October 23, 38 new departments are also concerned by the mandatory curfew. As of the moment of this writting, 54 metropolitan territories in total and French Polynesia must respect the curfew established from 21h to 6h by the government, as part of the declared state of health emergency . 

Original news from October 16, 2020

During a televised interview last Wednesday, October 14, the President of the Republic, Emmanuel Macron, announced new restrictive measures to curb the second wave of the coronavirus epidemic that is surging in France.

The Head of State announced the implementation of curfews that will come into force on Saturday, October 17, at midnight. The curfews will last for at least four weeks starting this Saturday, October 17, with the possibility of extension until December.

The curfews will apply from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m.; and will be implemented in the following metropolitan areas:

  • Ile-de-France region (Paris)
  • Grenoble
  • Lille
  • Lyon
  • Aix-Marseille
  • Montpellier
  • Rouen
  • Saint-Etienne
  • Toulouse

During the curfew hours, travel will be limited to select reasons only and will require carrying a certificate justifying the motive for being outside. The reason must correspond to one of the five following exceptions:

  • Displacement for health reasons.
  • For professional reasons.
  • To help a relative in a situation of dependency.
  • For transportation, reasons (train or plane for example).
  • To take your pet out near your home.

The certificate template will be available on the Ministry of the Interior's website ( For those who do not wish to print it every time, it should also be possible to present a handwritten version or an electronic one on a smartphone.

The fine for non-compliance will be 135 euros, similar to the failure to wear a mask. It can go up to 1500 euros in case of a repeated offense.



Share the article

And more...