EU reopens its borders to 15 countries

4 years ago
EU borders reopening

Open borders with 15 countries


Following the French proposal, confirmed by the EU Commission on June 11th, the EU reopens, as of today, July 1st, its external borders to the following 15 countries:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)

Given the local sanitary status, the US, Brazil, India or Russia are currently excluded from that list.

This reopening extends to "Schengen associate" countries: Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.

Citizens from Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are considered as EU citizens in that framework.


A progressive reopening of the EU's external borders


This border reopening is based on the sanitary situation in each third-party state which will be reviewed every fortnight.


Our Immigration Team is ready to assist your assignees coming into France from these countries.



Share the article

And more...